You have done well
In the contest of
madness.
You were brave in that
holy war.
You have all the
honorable wounds
Of one who has tried to
find love
Where the Beautiful Bird
Does not drink.
May I speak to you
Like we are close
And locked away
together?
Once I found a stray
kitten
And I used to soak my
fingers
In warm milk;
It came to think I was
five mothers
On one hand.
Wayfarer,
Why not rest your tired
body?
Lean back and close
your eyes.
Come morning
I will kneel by your side
and feed you.
I will so gently
Spread open your mouth
And let you taste
something of my
Sacred mind and life.
Surely
There is something
wrong
With your ideas of
God
O, surely there is
something wrong
With your ideas of
God
If you think
Our Beloved would not
be so
Tender.

Author

Sajjaad Hussian Peerbhai
